Memduh Asaf Street 10, Koshkluchiftlik, Nicosia / TRNC   +90 (392) 227 10 47

Turunçlu Fethiye Mosque

Turunçlu Fethiye Mosque, located in Nicosia, Walled City, İplik Pazarı Neighbourhood, was built in 1825 (H.1240) by Seyyid Mehmed Aga, the Governor of Cyprus, according to the construction inscription.
The prayer hall of the mosque, which has a transverse rectangular plan, is divided into five stages with four rows of arches carrying the wooden ceiling in the north-south direction. The mihrab and pulpit of the building show baroque features. The last congregation portico, which surrounds the north and west of the prayer hall in the form of ‘L’ from the outside, has ten pointed arches resting on eight squat columns. There is a wooden mezzanine serving as the women's section in the north-east. This section is reached by wooden stairs. The stone-built cylindrical minaret stands in the north-east and has an ornate balcony. The minaret is accessed from the prayer hall of the mosque. Above the entrance, there is an inscription with a couplet in Ottoman Turkish dated 1825.


TİKA's Contributions

In the project carried out in 2024, an exterior lighting system was installed in the mosque to increase its appearance especially at night. In addition, repairs and renovations were carried out on the exterior facade and ablution rooms.

  All Places